The Victorian Curriculum assumes that knowledge and skills are transferable across the curriculum and therefore are not duplicated. For example, skills and knowledge such as asking questions, evaluating evidence and drawing conclusions are defined in Critical and Creative Thinking and these definitions are not duplicated in other learning areas such as History or Health and Physical Education. Instead, it is expected that skills and knowledge defined in the capabilities will be developed, practised, deployed and demonstrated by students in and through their learning in all curriculum areas.     

                                                                                                                                                                        Back to Victorian Curriculum F-10
Learning Areas
The Arts
  • Dance

  • Drama

  • Media Arts

  • Music

  • Visual Arts

  • Visual Communication Design

These learning areas underline the importance of a discipline-based approach to learning,
where learning areas are regarded as both enduring and dynamic.

Each learning area provides and is defined by a unique way of seeing, understanding and
engaging with the world.

For the Arts, the Humanities and the Technologies, students engage in and through disciplines,
which provide discrete content descriptions and achievement standards.


  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Speaking & Listening
Health and Physical Education   
The Humanities
  • Civics and Citizenship

  • Economics and Business

  • Geography

  • History

  • Number & Algebra
  • Measurement & Geometry
  • Statistics & Probability
  • Design and Technologies      

  • Digital Technologies 



Critical and Creative Thinking



Personal and Social                            

A set of discrete knowledge and skills, capabilities are taught in and through all learning areas.
They are not confined to just one area or discipline.