This continuum structure enables the development of targeted learning programs for all students, where the curriculum is used to plan in relation
to the actual learning level of each student rather than their assumed level of learning based on age.

Each curriculum area includes content descriptions explaining what is to be taught and achievement standards describing what students are able
to understand and do. The achievement standards are provided in 11 levels for English and Mathematics or in five or six bands for all the other
learning areas and capabilities.

                                                                                                                                                     Back to Victorian Curriculum F-10

Achievement standards reflect the emphasis within the broad stages of schooling, these being:

Foundation stage (Years Prep–2)

Focus is on curriculum areas of

  • English,
  • Mathematics,
  • The Arts,
  • Health and Physical Education,
  • Personal and Social capability.

These areas all have a standard at Foundation.

Breadth stage (Years 3–8)

Students fully engage with all learning areas and capabilities.

Pathways stage (Years 9–10)

Students engage in a broad education and begin to plan their senior secondary program of study.